0 item(s) in My Cart

About the WNBA

  • Now in its 16th season, the WNBA is the longest running, most successful U.S. professional women’s sports league.
  • Twelve teams compete in the WNBA: the Atlanta Dream, Chicago Sky, Connecticut Sun, Indiana Fever, Los Angeles Sparks, Minnesota Lynx, New York Liberty, Phoenix Mercury, San Antonio Silver Stars, Seattle Storm, Tulsa Shock, and Washington Mystics.
  • The Minnesota Lynx, led by Finals MVP Seimone Augustus, won the 2011 WNBA Finals title.
  • Minnesota Lynx guard Maya Moore earned Rookie of the Year honors in 2011.
  • 2011 WNBA regular-season MVP Tamika Catchings holds the record for the most Defensive Player of the Year Awards, earning the honor four times.
  • Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles achieved single-season WNBA records for most rebounds and double-doubles in her rookie year. She earned the 2010 Rookie of the Year Award that season.
  • Tina Thompson, the only player to compete in all 16 WNBA seasons, surpassed Lisa Leslie to become the league’s all-time leading scorer in 2010.
  • Three players have earned the WNBA Most Valuable Player Award three times: the Seattle Storm’s Lauren Jackson, the Houston Comets’ Sheryl Swoopes and the Los Angeles Sparks’ Lisa Leslie.
  • In 2008, Candace Parker became the first WNBA player to win Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player in the same season.
  • Diana Taurasi rewrote WNBA scoring records in 2006, averaging a league-best 25.3 PPG and becoming the first WNBA player to eclipse 800 points in a single season.
  • Nneka Ogwumike was drafted No. #1 overall by the Los Angeles Sparks in the 2012 WNBA Draft.
  • There are 19 foreign-born WNBA players, hailing from 13 different countries.
  • More than 90 percent of WNBA players have graduated from college.